Amma

photo13.jpgI fondly recall calling my mother AMMA as we grew up. My siblings and I would use the term if we spoke about our mum and it would go like ” amma needs or amma said…”  Sadly the days of that have passed and if you’ve read Forever Missed you would have learnt of my mums passing some nine years ago.

A few weeks back currychick was fortunate enough to attend an event in Brisbane and meet the Hugging Saint known as Amma.   Amma’s real name is Mata Amritanandamayi but she is known throughout the world as Amma, or Mother, for her selfless love and compassion toward all beings.

This is my second time meeting this phenomenal hugging guru. Both times left me with a surreal, calmness like no other. The darshan (blessing) wait time albeit long is certainly worth the hug. There is a peace and calmness that reverberates through the evening and her throng of followers is inspiring besides intriguing. Amma’s message is spiritual and simple; be kind as well as practicing mindfulness. Throughout the event she sits calmly singing, chanting and filling us with her aura, culminated by a hug that left me wobbly and delirious. No wonder she is such a global sensation.  Truly the long wait is worth every second as this amazing lady is not called a saint for nothing. If you’d like to read more about Amma and her phenomenal work click hereamma+pic.jpg

As I drove home I thought there is no hug like Amma’s, it’s just magically…..but wait it all came back….her hug was that of a mother. I felt I was in my mother’s arms again, a hug that takes away all pain plus woes. A hug that demands nothing in return and is just reassuring and comforting and non-judgemental.  The apt title of Amma!

Wishing readers of my blog a very Happy Mother’s Day !

Stay tuned I’ve got someone really exciting to introduce you to shortly!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kem says:

    Love this so much, thanks for being such an amazing mum ❤

    Like

    1. currychick says:

      Awwww I love being a mother to your’ll. You guys rock my world! Hugs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

